Ergänzungsleistungen zur AHV/IV (EL)

Supplementary benefits for AHV/IV (EL)

 

The standard book "Ergänzungsleistungen zur AHV/IV" ("Supplementary benefits for AHV/IV"), which has been published by Schulthess Verlag Zurich since 1995, is a matter close to my heart that goes far beyond scientific interest. Uwe Koch, my much valued co-author since 2000, and I have refered to the following quote by Marshall Sahlins and put it in German at the beginning of the 3rd edition published in June 2021:

Poverty is not a certain small amount of goods, nor is it just a relation between means and ends; above all it is a relation between people. Poverty is a social status. As such it is the invention of civilization. It has grown with civilization, at once as an invidious distinction between classes and more importantly as a tributary relation.

(Marschall Sahlins, Stone Age Economics, New York, 2017, p. 36)

Marshall Sahlins puts it in a nutshell: Poverty and wealth affect people. They evoke in us humans feelings, and sensations : Compassion, contempt, shame, pride, pity, scorn. In addition, they provoke statements, attitudes and regulations on the social level: Economic help, discrimination, powerlessness, exaggeration, mercy, exclusion, inclusion, guilt, indifference and solidarity.

Originally only intended as a transitional solution, the supplementary benefits for the AHV/IV found their way into the Federal Constitution on January 1, 2008 and thus recognition at constitutional level that they have long enjoyed in practice: Livelihood security in old age, in the event of disability and death and in financing home stays. Despite certain shortcomings, they can actually serve as a model for a schematic livelihood and basic security.  A high level of individual justice, but also general legal security and legal equality are guaranteed.

About the book:

In the first edition from 1995, the system of supplementary benefits for AHV/IV was presented in detail for the first time. In the second of 2009, in particular, the relevant provisions on the general part of social security law and the reformulation of the federal law within the framework of the reorganization of financial equalization were included. The 3rd edition contains the innovations of the reform of the Supplementary Benefits Act, which came into force in 2021, and the latest federal and cantonal jurisprudence (status at the end of 2020).

 

The book is aimed primarily at practitioners who deal with the supplementary benefits for AHV/IV, be it as employees of a counseling center for old age and disability or as legal representatives. It serves as a reference work for the specialists at the offices for the implementation of the supplementary benefits or in the course of studies and for the interested readership.

 Extract (in German)

Ergänzungsleistungen zur AHV/IV (EL)

 

Das im Schulthess Verlag Zürich seit 1995 erscheinende Standardwerk "Ergänzungsleistungen zur AHV/IV" ist für mich eine Herzensangelegenheit, die weit über das wissenschaftliche Interesse hinausgeht. Uwe Koch, mein geschätzter Co-Autor seit 2000, und ich haben der im Juni 2021 erschienenen 3. Auflage  das folgende Zitat vorangestellt:

Armut bedeutet nicht, nur eine kleine Menge von Gütern zu besitzen,

Armut bedeutet auch nicht nur ein bestimmtes Verhältnis von Zielen und Mitteln,

Armut ist vor allem eine Beziehung zwischen Menschen.

Armut ist ein sozialer Status ... und sie hat zugenommen – sie bildet eine unerfreuliche Trennlinie zwischen den Schichten.

(Marschall Sahlins, Stone Age Economics)

Quelle des Zitats: 

Richard Wilkinson und Kate Pickett, Gleichheit ist Glück. Warum gerechte Gesellschaften für alle besser sind, Berlin 2010, S. 29

Marshall Sahlins bringt es auf den Punkt: Armut und Reichtum machen betroffen. Sie rufen bei uns Menschen Gefühle, Empfindungen hervor: Mitgefühl, Verach­tung, Scham, Stolz, Mitleid, Hohn. Sie provozieren darüber hinaus auf der gesellschaftlichen Ebene Stellungnahmen, Haltungen und Regelungen: Wirtschaftliche Hilfe, Diskriminierung, Ohn­macht, Überhöhung, Erbarmen, Ausgrenzung, Integration, Schuld, Gleichgültigkeit und Solidarität.

Ursprünglich lediglich als Übergangslösung gedacht, haben die Ergänzungs­leistungen zur AHV/IV am

1. Januar 2008 Eingang in die Bundesverfassung gefunden und somit auf Verfassungsstufe die Anerkennung gefunden, wel­che ihnen in der Praxis schon lange zukommt: Existenzsicherung im Alter, bei Invalidität und beim Tod und bei der Finanzierung von Heimaufenthalten. Trotz Män­geln können sie geradezu als Modell einer schematisier­ten Existenz­- und Grundsicherung dienen. Hohe Einzelfallgerechtigkeit, aber auch generelle Rechtssicherheit und Rechtsgleichheit sind gewährleistet.

Zum Buch:

In der ersten Auflage von 1995 ist das System der Ergänzungsleistungen zur AHV/IV erstmals umfassend dargestellt worden. In der zweiten von 2009 haben insbesondere die massgeblichen Bestimmungen über den Allgemeinen​Teil des Sozialversicherungsrechts und die Neuformulierung des Bundesgeset­zes im Rahmen der Neuordnung des Finanzausgleichs Eingang gefunden. Die 3. Auflage enthält die Neuerungen der Reform des Ergänzungsleis­tungsgesetzes, welche 2021 in Kraft getreten ist, und die neueste eidgenössische und kantonale Rechtsprechung (Stand Ende 2020).

 

Das Werk richtet sich vornehmlich an Praktikerinnen und Praktiker, welche sich mit den Ergänzungsleistungen zur AHV/IV auseinandersetzen, sei es als Mitarbeitende einer Beratungsstelle bei Alter und Invalidität oder als Rechts­vertreterinnen und Rechtsvertreter. Den Fachpersonen der Durchführungs­stellen der Ergänzungsleistungen oder im Studium und der interessierten Leserschaft dient es als Nachschlagewerk.

Leseprobe